How to lock Facebook Profile

How to Lock Facebook Profile? Why it’s Important?

Facebook’s launched a new feature called Facebook Profile Lock for its Indian users aiming to ensure the safety of all its users especially women users. Using these features users can lock their profiles, preventing anyone not friends with them from seeing any photos or posts shared on the page. But unfortunately, Facebook has released these features for only limited country users like India. Not all countries across the globe have received this feature at the moment.

Why Locking of Profile is Important?

By locking your profile on Facebook, you are blocking any non-friend user to view your personal information like your bio and personal photos. It even prevents anonymous users to download your profile and cover photos.

The locking profile enables users to apply multiple privacy settings and additionally adds several new features to their Facebook profile.

What happens when you lock your Facebook Profile?

When you locks your Facebook Profile, only your friends will see the following:

  • Photos and posts on your timeline.
  • Your full-size profile picture or cover photo.
  • Your Stories.
  • New posts and photos posted by you.
  • Any posts you have shared in the past with the Public sharing option will be changed to Friends only.
  • Your timeline review and tag review will be turned on.
  • Only a portion of your About info will be visible to everyone on your profile.

Note: Facebook Lock Profile feature isn’t available everywhere right now. You can only lock your Facebook profile in certain countries and on certain devices. For more information check this official Facebook page: How do I lock my Profile on Facebook?

How to lock Facebook Profile on your Android?

To enable the feature, please follow the below steps one by one

Step 1: Open your Facebook Application

Open your Facebook Application on your Android Phone and Click the Setting button as shown in the below image

How to lock Facebook Profile and Why its important

Step 2: Go to your Profile Page

Click your Facebook Profile as shown in the below image:

How to lock Facebook Profile and Why its important

Step 3: Select Lock Profile on Profile settings

Under Profile Settings select the Lock Profile option as shown in the below image:

How to lock Facebook Profile and Why its important

Step 4: Now click the Lock your Profile Button

How to lock Facebook Profile and Why its important

Now your Profile is successfully locked and you will get the below confirmation message.

How to lock Facebook Profile and Why its important

If you go to your Profile page you will see a Profile Lock button as shown in the below image.

How to lock Facebook Profile and Why its important

That’s it. Now you have successfully locked your Facebook profile and secure your personal information to your Friends lists only.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: